Today at the Amusement Park

*My husband bought me the book Write the Story. It’s a writing practice book which provides a topic and ten words to use in a creative story. I have been trying to complete a story each day as part of my goal of writing 300 words per day. This is definitely unfinished, but I wanted to share an example with you. Also, please forgive me for any wildly out-there words. I did my best with the toolbox I was given. It’s part of the practice–adding specific words to the tale.

Prompt- Today at the Amusement Park

Words- Ferris wheel, Dinosaur, disk, exceedingly, narrow, Snickerdoodle, joined, don

 

We have been in line for the Ferris wheel for over an hour. If my little brother hadn’t insisted that we ride around the revolving disk I would never had waited this long. We only visit Dinosaur Land once every summer. It seems like such a waste to spend the day in line for the Ferris wheel of all rides.

But then again this trip isn’t about me. It’s about Wyatt.

When I was younger I never understood why Mom and Dad dropped us off every summer at the amusement park. Don’t worry we weren’t alone. Tons of counselors met us at the doors wearing identical tshirts and insisting that we don them as well. Now I understand that this trip is part of their respite package. It gives Mom and Dad a chance to get away for one day. So even if I am fifteen I’ll wait in line with my little brother. I can handle one day for Mom and Dad.

Wyatt was diagnosed with autism when he was five. Throughout the year Mom and Dad spend an exceedingly large amount of time joined in an effort to appease Wyatt’s narrow particulars.

He loves cars, dogs, and Ferris wheels.

Only red cars. Only our dog, Snickerdoodle. Only this Ferris wheel at Dinosaur Land.

And that is why we are waiting in this long line. And once we finally get to ride it we will go to the end of the line and wait again. We will experience exactly one ride on this trip just like every other year.

But this trip isn’t about me. It’s about Wyatt.

The Ameri Brit Mom

It is unlawful to plagiarize any of the original work from The Ameri Brit Mom. No permission is given to reuse this text or ideas without written consent. Always give credit where credit is due.

**If you are looking for some writing practice give it a try. Spend a few minutes crafting a story or character using the prompt and words above. Feel free to post it in the comments or on your own blog. It’s silly, but I can tell I’m getting more and more creative with each prompt.

 

Leave a Reply

