Five Minute Friday: Help

This week the topic for the Five Minute Friday link-up post is Help. What is a link-up? Essentially a link-up is when you join other bloggers and write on a similar topic. You share your blog posts with one another and begin conversations via a host site. You can head over to Kate Motaung’s page to check out other entries from inspired bloggers. Here’s my five minutes of uninterrupted, unedited writing on this week’s topic:

Easy-CupcakeRecipes-For-aDessert-Party-600x600

Last night I had the privilege of helping a friend.

It had been a rough couple of weeks for her family and so my husband and I volunteered to watch their three children to give them some much needed Mom and Dad time. So, yes, last night we were outnumbered. Four little girls (ranging in age from seven months to four years old) to two parents. But it wasn’t chaotic. It was so much fun.

At first, the girls went for the box of dress up clothes–as they always do. Within minutes of their arrival we had a fashion show of ballerinas and princesses. The second youngest, who can only say a handful of words pointed at herself during her runway debut and said, “Anna” as she was wearing Princess Anna’s dress from the Disney movie, Frozen. And the older two fought over who was going to wear the light-up, high-heel, Cinderella shoes. Meltdown #1*.

After the fashion show we paraded to the park across the street. The girls played in the eighty degree heat, but didn’t let the dry, hot air slow them down. After a little meltdown from my own child (meltdown #2*) we decided to head back home for some frozen Popsicles and a bit of Sofia the First, per request of Princess Anna.

In the end, it was such a fun play date and I’m so glad we were able to give my friend and her husband a chance to breathe. As a mom I appreciate how important it is to come up for air every once in a while.

I want to challenge you to find a small way to help out this week. Find someone in your life who could use something and offer it without delay. Don’t put it off! Maybe they need help with mowing their yard, cleaning their house, paying for groceries, or watching their children. Whatever a friend in need is craving most do that for them. Be aware of those around you and fulfill a need this week. It will be fun and rewarding, I promise!

*Also, I must clarify that the meltdown count above refers to my own child. My friends’ kids were angels. My daughter is at that age where she struggles with sharing her toys and her parents. We had a few extra cuddles last night and a couple of lectures on sharing for the thousandth time. 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Help

  1. I’m laughing here because well we have two toddler grandsons and when they are both here it does seem easier because they entertain each other. I’ve helped my daughter twice this week. She was so sick (she’s pregnant) and I kept the 1.5 year old for the day and overnight. I have him again today and tonight and tomorrow. I love helping her and my daughter-in-love. Visiting from #FMF

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The distinction between chaos and fun is a choice. I know. There are nearly enough rescued dogs in the house (more are outside) to make up two football teams. Mealtime is…interesting.

    I loved this post. You have a writer’s heart.

    BTW, for what it may be worth I am a British-educated Mongolian who now lives in the Southwest US, but who worked throughout Monroe-Doctrine-Land, the NW Frontier, and SEA. I still have an orientally-tinged Oxbridge accent.

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/07/your-dying-spouse-184-circle-of-help-fmf.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

