Five Minute Friday: Miss

This week the topic for the Five Minute Friday link-up post is Miss. What is a link-up? Essentially a link-up is when you join other bloggers and write on a similar topic. You share your blog posts with one another and begin conversations via a host site. You can head over to Kate Motaung’s page to check out other entries from inspired bloggers. Here’s my five minutes of uninterrupted, unedited writing on this week’s topic:

miss-600x600.jpg

Another school year is coming to a close. Today I’m embracing the blessing in my school district of a May Day which means that for the next three weeks I am out of school on Fridays. It’s only four day weeks from this point forward. Although I’m looking forward to a long summer vacation and a break from work I am realizing that there are many things that  I will miss after the termination of the school year.

First of all, my classes.

This has been such a fun group to teach. For the first year I had the opportunity to teach an honors history course and that has been a blast. I’ve really enjoyed the students and our adventures through major historical moments. I will have a hard time passing them on to the tenth grade teachers because they are all so special to me.

Second of all, the seniors.

Every year it is hard to say goodbye as we release the seniors into the world of adulthood. However, I’ve cultivated a lasting mentorship with several of the seniors from this class. A lot of those relationships have been a product of advising the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. I’m really excited for all of the directions those seniors are going as they venture out on their own, but I will miss seeing them in the capacity in which I have grown accustomed to. They will be missed.

Thirdly, FCA.

A few weeks ago we made it official. My husband and I have stepped down as the advisers to the Fellowship of Christian Athletes at the school. This decision was made after months of prayer and seeking wisdom from those around us. It wasn’t a decision based on feelings or a situation, but one focused solely on the direction our family is headed. As much as I’ve loved working with the group it was the most time consuming portion of school year and so in lifting this off my plate I’ve been freed to spend more time partnering with my church, traveling with my husband’s basketball ministry, writing more books, and most importantly focusing on my daughter’s interests.

So as May 25th approaches a wealth of emotions are brought to the surface. Many things about upcoming school years will be different for me. This is the last time I will teach these people in this way and advise the club I’ve worked with for the past five years. However, I’m a firm believer that when God closes one door it is so another can be opened so I cling to the promise that greater things are yet to come! It will be hard not to miss the way things are right now, but God is preparing a great future for me!

The Ameri Brit Mom

 

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Miss

  1. Ah, a season’s end! Isn’t writing so good for processing change and missing things? Thank you for sharing, I enjoyed reading your thoughts. (From FMF slot #37)

    Like

Leave a Reply

