Five Minute Friday: Share

This week the topic for the Five Minute Friday link-up post is Share. What is a link-up? Essentially a link-up is when you join other bloggers and write on a similar topic. You share your blog posts with one another and begin conversations via a host site. You can head over to Kate Motaung’s page to check out other entries from inspired bloggers. Here’s my five minutes of uninterrupted, unedited writing on this week’s topic:

share-600x600.jpg

I don’t do enough public bragging about my husband. I’m a lucky woman to have found such a great guy. And because he’s so great he deserves a good shout out so today I will write about him.

The reason I think about my husband when I see the word, “share” is because he has made it a point from the first moments of our daughter’s life to be an active parent. One day she will appreciate the fact that she has a daddy who does the things that many won’t. We share the role of bringing up our daughter 50-50. And it was obvious to me from the day that he became a father that he would never be a passive participant in her life. I’m truly lucky to have a husband who has always been willing to feed, clean, dress, and play with our girl.

In the days following her delivery I was dealt a rough hand, but I had faith in my husband’s abilities to come through and be there when I couldn’t be. He has had an active role in every aspect ever since and at times he even tilts the scales so that he is doing more than I am without ever complaining.

Sometimes I hear about husbands who refuse to do “this” and “that” with the children because it is the “mom’s” job. When I hear this I feel a bit of sadness for the women who aren’t married to my husband. I will never take for granted that I’ve married a wonderful dad who puts his family first and would do anything for us. He’s a loyal and loving man and I only wish that every family could have a father figure like him.

  
 

The Ameri Brit Mom

 

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Share

Leave a Reply

