On Being a Writer: Plan

I am joining a group of writers who are linking-up twice a week through the month of September to discuss some of the foundational ideas in writing. The topics for this link-up come from the book On Being a Writer by Ann Kroeker and Charity Singleton Craig. This link-up is being hosted by Kate Motaung on her blog entitled Heading Home. Today’s topic is Plan:

Planning is one of the most difficult steps in the writing process for me. Okay, maybe not the actual planning itself, rather the time to plan. I am challenged to find adequate time to set aside to truly plan out where I’m headed whether that be with my blog or some of the other writing projects I am doing on the side. My planning is not super in-depth or detailed due to the lack of time I devote to the planning process.

For blogging at the end of each week I write out a plan for posts to be written the following week in my planner from Plum Paper Designs. I outline what I want to write about accompanied by a couple of rough ideas, but generally I don’t articulate too much until the time comes to actually beginning writing each post. With that process, it does allow for a little wiggle room and occassionally my writing will take on a completely different shape than what I had originally intended (which I think can be both a positive and negative thing).

With the novel I am currently working on planning has been a little more crucial. Before setting out to write any of it I created a chapter-by-chapter blueprint detailing some of the major events. As the story progresses I’m constantly editing that plan, but I found that having this plan has been very beneficial in giving me purpose each time I sit down to write. I’m nearing the half-way point in the novel and am looking forward to the road ahead. I also found that starting from the climax of the story and working backwards has also helped to shape this story. I guess time will tell how successful that plan actually is.

How do you incorporate planning into your writing?

Leave a Reply

