A Week Before Her Birthday

Early September is an emotional time for me. Three years ago on September 12th I gave birth to our beautiful daughter. Every year as her birthday approaches I am struck with flashbacks to Birthdays of the Past and the early days of her life. I get a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes when I think about the days when I used to swaddle her. I reminisce about how quickly our all-day napping sessions came and went. I think back to fixing bottles, blending her pureed meals, and teaching her to roll over. Her first three years have flown by so quickly.

There isn’t a moment when I don’t feel blessed to be her mother. We are in the middle of the toddler years and some days are harder than others, but in the thick of it all September hits and I’m blown away about how quickly each year of her life comes and goes. I’m not overcome with anxiety about getting a perfect gift or planning a party. I’m just overwhelmed with love. It’s crazy to believe that this time three years ago that we had not yet met our bundle of joy.

So as the mornings grow foggy and the nights are sprinkled with frost I remember those first days as a mother and I smile. Nothing in life has been like the roller coaster of motherhood, but I wouldn’t exchange a second for any other phase of life. During this time I’ve learned so much and I’ve enjoyed each smile, each step, and each conversation.

408256_4219190851396_1127951168_n

3 years ago at the baby shower in early September

576919_4634557588013_2048479717_n

September 12, 2012

7002_10200109206718997_1194501097_n

early October 2012

FullSizeRender (7)

The week of her third birthday (September 2015)

Leave a Reply

